Chair of Organization Theory and Design

Mission of the Chair of Organization Theory and Design

 
  1. We understand business administration and its subfield "Organization Theory and Design” as reality-oriented academic disciplines. The goal is to acquire and to pass on knowledge that helps actors in business and administrative practice to decide in a goal-oriented manner. Based on these overriding guidelines we derive the following, more specific principles.
  2. We strive to develop our research work on the basis of solid theoretical grounds. For us, theories are not unclear, unworldly frameworks. They are overarching, consistent systems of thought, based on human rationality and experience. One important goal of theories is to interconnect divergent academic subfields. Further on, theoretical frameworks have to be relevant for the type of organization studied. They shall allow the derivation of problem-specific explanations, forecasts and recommendations. Theories are a means of acquiring new knowledge - nothing else.
  3. As a result, we prefer a theory-guided approach for our research since we know theories are valid for a longer time than methods, techniques, and factual knowledge.
  4. We assign empirical research a key role in our research since it informs us about organizational and management practices existing in the real world. We strive for a theory-guided form of empirical research to guarantee results in our field of research to be more than accidental, sample-specific phenomena.
  5. We acknowledge the basic equivalence of quantitative and qualitative types of empirical research. None of these two types is generally superior; the choice between them will therefore be considered in each individual case taking into account the research question, the juvenility of the topic, the available knowledge stock, and other conditions given in the area of research.
  6. Although we pursue a distinctive orientation for practical experience, we are aware of the critical distance researchers have to keep towards practice. If we, in our first guideline, have acknowledged the support of a target-aimed action in practice, this cannot mean that we will develop explanations, forecasts, and recommendations preferring one of firms’/administrations’ interest groups. Instead, we want to develop insights supporting firms’ and administrations’ general, long-term oriented capacity to act. We are not afraid of evaluating patterns of action found in reality. However, we want to try to conduct these evaluations from different perspectives and points of interest. We want to identify on which basis (point of interest) each evaluation occurred.
  7. We are not afraid of evaluating patterns of action found in reality. However, we want to try to conduct these evaluations from different perspectives and points of interest. We want to identify on which basis (point of interest) each evaluation occurred. 
  8. The superior goal of our teaching activities is to increase the decision-making capabilities and responsibilities of students. Therefore, we aim to integrate practical methods of instruction and learning (e.g. practical examples, cases, and seminars concerning case studies) in our teaching program. Despite of this focus, for us it is important to implement our basic research principles (theoretical orientation, empirical foundation of conclusions) in the education.
  9. To accomplish this goal of increasing decision-making capabilities and responsibilities, students have to accept the need to self-study and to call in academic literature. It is insufficient to simply learn fragments of ideas documented on powerpoint slides. Especially, the conceptual heterogeneity typical of the field of organizational science requires that students read academic literature.

Lehrstuhl für Organisation

Mission des Lehrstuhls für Organisation

 

  1. Wir begreifen die Betriebswirtschaftslehre und damit auch deren Teildisziplin "Organisation" als eine Realwissenschaft, deren Ziel es ist, Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen und weiterzugeben, die den verantwortlichen Akteuren der Unternehmens- und Verwaltungspraxis helfen, zielführend zu handeln. Aus diesem übergeordneten Grundsatz leiten sich unsere spezifischeren, nachfolgend vorgestellten Grundsätze ab. 
  2. Wir streben danach, unsere Forschungstätigkeit theoriegeleitet zu vollziehen. Theorien sind für uns nicht "unübersichtliche, weltfremde Hirngespinste", sondern übergeordnete, in sich konsistente und auf der Basis der menschlichen Vernunft überprüfbare Aussagensysteme, die unterschiedliche Erkenntnisbereiche miteinander verbinden, für den jeweils untersuchten Organisationstyp relevant sind und Wissenschaftlern ermöglichen, problembezogene Erklärungen, Prognosen und Gestaltungsvorschläge abzuleiten. Theorien sind Hilfsmittel der Erkenntnisgewinnung - mehr nicht. 
  3. Wir bevorzugen auch deshalb eine theoriegeleitete Vorgehensweise, weil wir wissen, dass Theorien länger gültig sind als Methoden, Techniken und Faktenwissen. 
  4. Wir weisen empirischen Untersuchungen in unserer Forschungsarbeit eine wichtige Rolle zu, da sie uns helfen, Aufschluss über die Organisations- bzw. Managementpraktiken der realen Welt zu gewinnen. Wir streben nach einer theoriegeleiteten Form empirischer Forschung, weil nur so gewährleistet werden kann, dass die Ergebnisse unserer im Untersuchungsfeld vollzogenen Analysen mehr sind als zufällige Erscheinungen. 
  5. Wir erkennen, dass es sich bei quantitativen und qualitativen Formen der empirischen Forschung um grundsätzlich gleichwertige Alternativen handelt. Keine dieser beiden Zugangsformen ist generell überlegen; die Wahl zwischen ihnen werden wir daher stets im Einzelfall unter Berücksichtigung der jeweiligen Forschungsfrage, des hierauf bezogenen Wissensbestands sowie der im Untersuchungsfeld gegebenen Verhältnisse klären.
  6. Obwohl wir nach einer ausgeprägten Praxisorientierung streben, sind wir uns bewusst, dass Wissenschaftler eine kritische Distanz zur Praxis wahren müssen. Wenn wir uns im Rahmen unseres ersten Grundsatzes zu einer Unterstützung des zielführenden Handelns der Praxis bekannt haben, dann kann dies also nicht bedeuten, dass wir Erklärungen, Prognosen und Gestaltungsvorschläge entwickeln wollen, welche die Ziele einzelner Interessengruppen zu Lasten der Ziele anderer Interessengruppen bevorzugen. Dieses Selbstverständnis impliziert, dass wir an der Entwicklung von Gestaltungsvorschlägen mitwirken wollen, welche die Handlungsfähigkeit von Unternehmen und Verwaltungen nicht nur kurzfristig, sondern nachhaltig fördern. 
  7. Wir scheuen uns nicht davor, die in der Realität vorgefundenen Handlungsmuster zu bewerten. Wir wollen jedoch versuchen, diese Bewertungen vor dem Hintergrund unterschiedlicher Interessenpositionen vorzunehmen und aufzuzeigen, auf der Basis welcher Interessenposition welche Bewertung erfolgt ist.
  8. Das übergeordnete Ziel unserer Lehrtätigkeit besteht darin, die Entscheidungs- und Handlungskompetenzen der Studierenden zu steigern. Wir werden uns daher bemühen, praxisorientierte Lehr- und Lernmethoden (z. B. Praxisbeispiele, Fallstudienübungen und -seminare) in unser Lehrprogramm zu integrieren. Trotz dieser Orientierung muss es uns jedoch darum gehen, unsere die Forschung betreffenden Grundsätze (Theorieorientierung, empirische Stützung von Aussagen) auch im Bereich der Lehre umzusetzen.
  9. Wir wissen, dass sich dieses Ziel der Steigerung von Entscheidungs- und Handlungskompetenzen nur dann erreichen lässt, wenn die Studierenden zum Selbststudium unter Hinzuziehung von Fachliteratur bereit sind. Ein Auswendiglernen von auf Vorlesungsfolien dokumentierten Gedankenfragmenten reicht angesichts der im Organisationszusammenhang vielfach gegebenen Unterschiedlichkeit von Auffassungen nicht aus.